Old 07-13-2009, 03:04 PM   #1
DanKubicz

Model: 9630
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Default Blackberry Tour teathered vs AC595 Rev A

Please Login to Remove!

Folks,

I am brand new to Blackberry so I apologize for the stupid question. I did a search but did not find the answer I am looking for...probably missed it but I tried.

I am looking at buying a Tour with the teather option. I have Verizon services and an AC595 wireless PCMCIA card that I use a lot. I have great luck with the card and am very pleased with the speed of the network. I use the card for work and cannot live with anything any slower...

I am concerned with the speed of the Tour with a teather. Can anyone provide a comparison of performance (I know, it depends on a whole bunch of factors but in a similar environment).

I greatly appreciate your input.

Thanks much.

Dan
Old 07-13-2009, 03:11 PM   #2
zetroc
Thumbs Must Hurt

I was also wondering about teathering with the VZW Tour. I currently have TMo but will be switching to VZW as soon as my Tour arrives... tomorrow 3PM!

With TMo, teathering is not difficult, and TMo doesn't really have restrictions. Is teathering as simple with VZW, or should I not try teathering? I'm not very well-versed with VZW and teathering. Thanks!!!
Old 07-13-2009, 03:47 PM   #3
texasPI
Thumbs Must Hurt

Model: 9530

I've had a pcmica card and usb modem over the years until a few months ago when my usb modem was stolen. I then added the tethering option to my BB and have been happy ever since. When connected by usb it seems connection speeds are slightly slower than a dedicated modem but they are acceptable. and cheaper and no commitment as opposed to a dedicated modem.

I'm using a Pearl and I don't think its Rev A so thats a consideration. When tethering over bluetooth the connection slows down quite a bit. I'll be interested to hear what speeds are with the Tour.
Old 07-13-2009, 03:50 PM   #4
Serpentine009
Thumbs Must Hurt

Model: 8330
Carrier: VZW