BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-16-2010, 08:40 PM   #121
stevew
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
stevew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal
Model: Z10
OS: Latest...
Carrier: Koodo Mobile
Posts: 1,354
Default

Please Login to Remove!

It isn't the country code - mine has always been set for Canada (+1). I have the problem most of the time anyway...I've reloaded both .423/.442 several times, to no avail. It is some type of intermittent bug that must have something to do with particulars on some BB's having some type of data.
__________________
Steve (Besadmin)

Previously owned:
At least 17+ different BB's since 1999 -- too many to list...
Offline  
Old 02-16-2010, 10:14 PM   #122
bucyluca
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: fido
Posts: 3
Default

I have a AT&T 9700, unlocked, but could not use phone in 3G with FIDO. I did this update, and works great in 3G Fido now.

My problem seems I lost my gps . It cannot lock on the gps satellites. BBmaps and google maps do not find the satellites.
I went to OPTIONS > Advanced Options > GPS > (I tried Refresh Satellites) standing outdoors,
still nothing.

Anyone else have this problem?

I removed battery. I deleted google maps and re-installed it, but still get same problem.
Offline  
Old 02-16-2010, 10:16 PM   #123
bucyluca
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: fido
Posts: 3
Default

SO Strange, as I was typing this reply, indoors, in my basement, the BB found satellite, I now see Latitude and longitude. It was unable to do it outdoors.
I will try the google maps in a car trip see if its working fine again.
Offline  
Old 02-16-2010, 11:31 PM   #124
bucyluca
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: fido
Posts: 3
Smile

Its my first week with a BB, newbie at work..
I was searching google for a fix to my unlocked 9700 BB AT&T which would not be able to call out if it was on 3G network, I came to this forum, glad I did.

Ok, my GPS fix, after installing the new latest OS (fixed my 9700 AT&T unlocked to work on FIDO 3G network) my GPS was not locking on. It seemed like my GPS needed to be initialized, a booster jump, waking up, etc...

I had it on BBmaps and Google maps all afternoon and evening, indoors and outdoors, no satellites.
I tried OPTIONS > ADVANCED OPTIONS > GPS > "REFRESH GPS"
but I think it would time out too soon to lock on satellites. Would not get any, my Long & Lat were all Zero's.

Finally, from indoors, I went to BBmaps, then did START GPS Navigation,


it started to search for satellite,after awhile (10 minutes or so) sitting on my desk, it got 1 satellite, then 2, 3, 4 satellites was the max. BBMaps seemed to have forced the GPS to lock on, went outdoors, now showed 7 -8 satellites.


After a short car trip around town, GPS seems to work fine on both BBmaps and Google maps.

Back to Indoors, in my basement, shows 5 to 7 satellites.

Thanks for the help, glad I got the 3G to work, (not that I will use it much) but atleast it works fine.
Offline  
Old 02-21-2010, 01:41 PM   #125
sinjunkai
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Model: 9700
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 9
Default

I type in all my information to download the new OS. I keep getting the same response. Even changing some of my info, or using completely bogus or correct. What do I need to do to get to the download? What database is it checking info against?

*Please confirm that above information is accurate and current.
Offline  
Old 02-21-2010, 02:59 PM   #126
J-Tuning
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
J-Tuning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.344
Carrier: KPN
Posts: 86
Default

Hi all,
Got my 9700 friday. Upgrading from a 9000. The OS on my Bold 2 from my carrier is .344. Do you guys recommend my update the OS with .442? Is there significant improvements?

Thnx

Jairo
Offline  
Old 02-21-2010, 04:14 PM   #127
sinjunkai
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Model: 9700
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sinjunkai View Post
I type in all my information to download the new OS. I keep getting the same response. Even changing some of my info, or using completely bogus or correct. What do I need to do to get to the download? What database is it checking info against?

*Please confirm that above information is accurate and current.
WOW, OK, so I didn't have a radio button clicked. I have been trying this with different information and maybe 20 times. I just don't know how I didn't see it.

I have only had my 9700 since Friday also, I always update to the newest OS when I get a new BB. I am upgrading from a 8700 after a move to California and better 3G coverage.
Offline  
Old 02-21-2010, 05:48 PM   #128
Howard S.
CrackBerry Addict
 
Howard S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Blue Bell, PA
Model: 9900
OS: 7.1.0.714
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 551
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J-Tuning View Post
Hi all,
Got my 9700 friday. Upgrading from a 9000. The OS on my Bold 2 from my carrier is .344. Do you guys recommend my update the OS with .442? Is there significant improvements?

Thnx

Jairo
As soon as I got mine I updated to what at the time was .423, and then again when .442 came along. I didn't use .344, but my best guess is that .442 is a more stable OS with certain fixes. The question you have to ask is there anything going on with your 9700 that seems like it may be an OS glitch? If so you probably want to update, if not, many people on this forum feel as though if it's not broken don't fix it.
Offline  
Old 02-22-2010, 12:56 AM   #129
classact
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: 9780
Carrier: Orange UK and T-Mobile UK
Posts: 49
Default

I've got the CallerID bug on a new handset running .442. I had a previous 9700 with whatever the previous version that was linked to from here, prior to .442 being released, was on it. That previous release had fixed the SMS bug for me, which was where contact numbers stored with spaces in them wouldn't display in the SMS inbox. This CallerID bug is a new one for me. SMS bug is also fixed on .442 for me.

Where do I go to check my country code is set properly? I really want this CallerID bug to be fixed. The symtoms I am seeing are just the number is being displayed when someone is calling me. However when I got to the call list after, the caller's name is shown with their number.
Offline  
Old 02-22-2010, 04:17 AM   #130
J-Tuning
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
J-Tuning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.344
Carrier: KPN
Posts: 86
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Howard S. View Post
As soon as I got mine I updated to what at the time was .423, and then again when .442 came along. I didn't use .344, but my best guess is that .442 is a more stable OS with certain fixes. The question you have to ask is there anything going on with your 9700 that seems like it may be an OS glitch? If so you probably want to update, if not, many people on this forum feel as though if it's not broken don't fix it.
Thanx for the reply. I am also a firm believer of "if it aint broke, dont fix it". I have done OS upgrades in the past on my 9000 and never noticed a thing. when i post the question of "what are the improvements in a certain Os upgrade?", i seldom get a good answer.

I'll keep .344 for a while.

Jairo
Offline  
Old 02-24-2010, 04:10 AM   #131
dajappie
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.423
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone NL
Posts: 4
Default

After upgrading to .442 the Bluetooth connection to my Audi A4's built-in carkit stopped working. It could only find it intermittently, and if it was found it couldn't connect at all. Overall the device was feeling a little more sluggish. Downgraded back to .423 and all is fine again...
Offline  
Old 02-28-2010, 03:25 AM   #132
SheeB
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Model: 9700
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 11
Default

Upgraded to .442 and the device appears to operate more efficiently. My voice dialing seems to works better, but the battery life does indeed seem to deplete more quickly as other have noted. I will keep it installed and wait for the next release.
Offline  
Old 03-02-2010, 10:59 AM   #133
jjpk
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Model: 9100
OS: 6.0.0.461
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile US
Posts: 4
Default

Most Importantly Resolved the Caller ID issue on my 9700; had stock 330 from T-MO US and last few months on Call forwarding it would only display the office number and after ignoring or answering would the correct number display. Definitely smoother overall, battery life marginally better, and less 3G/Edge hopping. Recommended update.
Offline  
Old 03-03-2010, 11:12 PM   #134
titan703
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 31
Default

the BB firmware servers have been down all day it looks like. This is so annoying and I need the firmware!!
Offline  
Old 03-05-2010, 10:30 PM   #135
Cavihitts
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 22
Default

Wirelessly posted

I as well have seen an increase in performance. I updated from the stock T-Mobile .330. I have had no failed calls ( was having 2 to 3 a day). It has also fixed the problem I was having with opening docs from the memory card using the file manager. The battery does not last quite as long but I'm not complaining too much.
Offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 02:08 PM   #136
brawleye
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T Mobile
Posts: 11
Default

I downloaded os 442 and deleted the vendor and it will not install 442 what do i do now
Offline  
Old 03-06-2010, 05:25 PM   #137
Howard S.
CrackBerry Addict
 
Howard S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Blue Bell, PA
Model: 9900
OS: 7.1.0.714
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 551
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brawleye View Post
I downloaded os 442 and deleted the vendor and it will not install 442 what do i do now
Can you be more specific about what's going on when you try to install? Are you getting any error message?
Offline  
Old 03-10-2010, 01:33 PM   #138
strobe14
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Model: 8320
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-MObile
Posts: 2
Default

I've been using .442 with EastAsia input for about 3 weeks and the battery life is terrible. 30-40% less life out of the battery. Dont know what is causing the drain: i make sure that i shut down my apps... GPS is always off.
i know that facebook is a battery killer with always trying to download the latest status update but it was not this bad with the original t_mo OS.
Offline  
Old 03-12-2010, 11:20 AM   #139
WPizzi
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Macedonia, Ohio
Model: 9900
OS: 7.0.0.250
PIN: 28A45FBD
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 40
Default

Ok has anyone been having issues with the download?

I got 101M's down before it told me there was an error and closed. This has happened twice in the last todays.
Offline  
Old 03-12-2010, 12:26 PM   #140
gixxstar
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Vancouver
Model: 9700
OS: 5.xxx
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers aka grab your ankles wireless...
Posts: 54
Question How to do this on a MAC?

Hey,

I have a 9700 and want to install new OS to it, I want to have Japanese language support.

The files here don't show up properly, does anyone know how to do this on a mac???

Thanks!
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Crystal Clear Epoxy for bar tops, tables, crafts, jewelry, castings-1 Gallon Kit picture

Crystal Clear Epoxy for bar tops, tables, crafts, jewelry, castings-1 Gallon Kit

$56.95



Crystal Clear Epoxy Resin General Purpose Bar Table Top Coating - 1 Gallon Kit picture

Crystal Clear Epoxy Resin General Purpose Bar Table Top Coating - 1 Gallon Kit

$55.95



Rockstar Crystal Clear Premium Epoxy Resin - 32oz Kit - 4-Star  picture

Rockstar Crystal Clear Premium Epoxy Resin - 32oz Kit - 4-Star

$33.49



Crystal Clear Epoxy Resin General Purpose Bar Table Top Coating - 2 Gallon Kit picture

Crystal Clear Epoxy Resin General Purpose Bar Table Top Coating - 2 Gallon Kit

$98.95



OXALIC ACID 99.6% 2 Lb. Deck, Crystals, Metal Cleaning- Rust Removal-  picture

OXALIC ACID 99.6% 2 Lb. Deck, Crystals, Metal Cleaning- Rust Removal-

$18.95



OXALIC ACID 99.6% 3 Lb. Deck, Crystals, Metal Cleaning- Rust Removal-  picture

OXALIC ACID 99.6% 3 Lb. Deck, Crystals, Metal Cleaning- Rust Removal-

$21.95







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.