BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-08-2009, 02:05 AM   #21
xkon
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Calgary
Model: 9700R
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 180
Default

Please Login to Remove!

curious whatever happened - i had heard Rogers would have a release in a few weeks, as i had heard when the 9000 came out. Then, never heard about it again...
__________________
my office? 9700 tethered to my MBAir
Offline  
Old 12-11-2009, 01:13 AM   #22
MrH
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Model: 8900
Carrier: Rogers Wireless
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xkon View Post
curious whatever happened - i had heard Rogers would have a release in a few weeks, as i had heard when the 9000 came out. Then, never heard about it again...
TalkSpot on my 8900 has been flaky for me from the week leading up to the release of the 9700 and ever since. Nights are usually best, daytime it's on and off, and late nights are usually not much better than the day. I almost wonder if Rogers is working on getting their network in order...

Anyhow, don't know of anyone who has gotten the 9700 working with a Rogers branded phone. Haven't heard anything about the 9700 supporting TalkSpot from Rogers since the launch.
Offline  
Old 12-15-2009, 12:34 PM   #23
tom0100
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: DC
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-mobile
Posts: 96
Default I use uma all the time

I have t-mobile and use it all the time. It works well in the basement bombshelter office they gave me at work. It's a pretty building but we have 3 useable sublevels (basements). The only way you get any cell phones to work down there is Voip or UMA.

Yeah, tmo has UMA working fine....can't speak for Rogers but heard that might not support it (rogers that is).

UMA allows free calling in Europe (and anywhere with a hotspot or just a wifi connection) if you use a hotspot. This upsets the phone companies...'cause it FREE CALLING....
Offline  
Old 12-22-2009, 08:45 PM   #24
Kwammi
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers Wireless
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom0100 View Post

UMA allows free calling in Europe (and anywhere with a hotspot or just a wifi connection) if you use a hotspot. This upsets the phone companies...'cause it FREE CALLING....
Rogers does not allow international calling. They track where you are around the world based on your IP address of the WIFI hotspot. It just says location not allowed. Sucks. Unless somebody can figure out some vpn or ip spoofing, we won't get international UMA. But at least UMA will fix some of the dead spots around my home.
Offline  
Old 03-10-2010, 08:29 PM   #25
trafsta
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: 9000
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 15
Default

Go here to get UMA working on your 9700! Finally!

Last edited by trafsta; 03-10-2010 at 08:35 PM..
Offline  
Old 03-12-2010, 09:27 AM   #26
SheeB
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Model: 9700
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 11
Default

Ho-Fo FTW!
Offline  
Old 03-12-2010, 09:39 AM   #27
NJBlackBerry
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: SGS7
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 27,948
Default

Wow...
Offline  
Old 03-12-2010, 03:54 PM   #28
Mikey83
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 26
Default

Read the info and I did get UMA working on my 9700 rogers branded phone
Offline  
Old 03-14-2010, 08:58 PM   #29
santo
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Model: 9800
OS: 6.0.0.246
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trafsta View Post
Go here to get UMA working on your 9700! Finally!
Got it working. Thank you! It does switch over from 3G to UMA on the latest beta for the 9700 but this was the key that I was missing. I did actually try this with the latest release version for Rogers and each version since I got the 9700 on release day but it would not work with the same settings and then some.

Thanks again. Now I can get phone calls in my office that has no cell reception.
Offline  
Old 03-28-2010, 02:52 AM   #30
xkon
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Calgary
Model: 9700R
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 180
Default

heh i got it working too. Its not as easy as on a 8900, but i NEED the 3G. the 9700 with UMA does absolutely everything i need it to.

Quote:
Originally Posted by santo View Post
Got it working. Thank you! It does switch over from 3G to UMA on the latest beta for the 9700 but this was the key that I was missing. I did actually try this with the latest release version for Rogers and each version since I got the 9700 on release day but it would not work with the same settings and then some.

Thanks again. Now I can get phone calls in my office that has no cell reception.
__________________
my office? 9700 tethered to my MBAir
Offline  
Old 08-03-2010, 09:26 AM   #31
trafsta
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: 9000
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 15
Default

For those of you subscribed to this thread, OS release 5.0.0.862 for the 9700 (not an official Rogers release, it's a leak) enables UMA fully ("Connection Preference" is now available under "Mobile Network Options"). Transitioning between 3G and UMA works well (no need to force 2G mode anymore). Use google to find this leak if you want UMA fully working on your Rogers BlackBerry Bold 9700
Offline  
Old 08-04-2010, 06:43 AM   #32
moembamba
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: ROGERS
Posts: 2
Default Rogers Uma 9700

Yes .862 has the UMA fix , I used it , works perfectly
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


NEW Raspberry Pi Compute Module 4 CM4 2GB RAM 8GB eMMC CM4002008 IN STOCK picture

NEW Raspberry Pi Compute Module 4 CM4 2GB RAM 8GB eMMC CM4002008 IN STOCK

$73.00



Hurst (Jaws of Life)  Hydraulic Ram Set (4) 5000psi New Single Quick Connect picture

Hurst (Jaws of Life) Hydraulic Ram Set (4) 5000psi New Single Quick Connect

$600.00



30 Ton Hydraulic Cylinder Ram Hollow Jack Single Acting 4

30 Ton Hydraulic Cylinder Ram Hollow Jack Single Acting 4" 100mm Stroke

$199.01



TEXAS INSTRUMENTS TMS4164-15NL 16-Pin Dip Dynamic RAM New Quantity-10 picture

TEXAS INSTRUMENTS TMS4164-15NL 16-Pin Dip Dynamic RAM New Quantity-10

$19.95



Ram / Cylinder Seal Kit for OTC 10 Ton Cylinder (Power Team / SPX) 300116 picture

Ram / Cylinder Seal Kit for OTC 10 Ton Cylinder (Power Team / SPX) 300116

$27.99



Bridgeport Milling Machine Used Round RAM picture

Bridgeport Milling Machine Used Round RAM

$2699.00







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.