Closed Thread

Old 09-04-2007, 02:01 PM   #1
dwex

Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Default Message moved from Exchange inbox to PST isn't removed from BB Inbox

Please Login to Remove!

I'm a Blackberry noob. Just got my 8830 last week, and finally got it activated on my company's BES this morning. I've noticed that if I delete a message from my inbox on either my PC via Outlook or on my 8830, then the message is correspondingly deleted on the other side. However, if I move the message from my Outlook/Exchange Inbox to a local folder in a .pst file (i.e. Outlook offline storage), the message remains in my 8830's Inbox. Even if I do "Reconcile Now", it stays on the 8830.

Any ideas? Thanks.
Old 09-04-2007, 02:04 PM   #2
jeffmarshall911

Model: 8820
Carrier: AT&T

I've been a BB/BES user for over 2 years and I spent quite some time reviewing this. Unless there has been an OS change then I understand that what you describe is "as designed".

If you find out more, I'd love to hear about it.

/Jeff
Old 09-04-2007, 02:16 PM   #3
dwex

How incredibly odd. Outlook/Exchange clearly know that the message has been deleted. I wonder if BES is actually looking for the message to move to the Deleted Items folder or something, to figure out the deletion. Why it doesn't get fixed on a reconcile is hard to understand, though - the message is clearly gone from the server.
Old 09-04-2007, 02:18 PM   #4
penguin3107
BlackBerry God

Model: iOS 5
Carrier: VZW

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwex View Post
I wonder if BES is actually looking for the message to move to the Deleted Items folder or something, to figure out the deletion.
That's correct.
BES doesn't know about things that occur in your PST file. It only looks at server-side activity.
Old 09-04-2007, 02:26 PM   #5
dwex

Quote:
Originally Posted by penguin3107 View Post
That's correct.
BES doesn't know about things that occur in your PST file. It only looks at server-side activity.