BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-22-2008, 09:09 AM   #1
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default OS: 8900 4.6.1.167/4.6.1.101 (Multilanguage)

Please Login to Remove!

Software For BlackBerry® Curve (TM) 8900 smartphone
From Entel PCS; this will load on any carrier's 8900 device.

BlackBerry Handheld Software v4.6.1.167 (Multilanguage)

Package Version: 4.6.1.167
Consisting of:

* Applications: 4.6.1.101
* Software Platform: 4.2.0.72
* File name: 8900M_PBr4.6.1_rel167_PL4.2.0.72_A4.6.1.101_Entel_ PCS.exe
* File size: 121.06MB

Note: The Software Platform and Applications version numbers can be found under Options-About screen on the handheld.

Download https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...67C4B3255DDA4D


Instructions for installing either version on ANY carrier's 8900:

1. Download the above OS file to the PC then install it to the PC by running (double clicking) the file you downloaded.
2. Go to c:\program files\common files\research in motion\apploader and delete the file named "vendor.xml."
3. Plug in BB and double click on "Loader.exe." It's located in the same place as the above vendor.xml file.

The process takes about 45 minutes to an hour depending on how much data you have to backup and restore during the process. Once it's done loading the new OS it will reboot (it may do this twice during the entire process.) You will see a white screen with an hourglass for up to 20 minutes at a time while the DM says "waiting for initialization."
If, for some reason, you end up with a white screen with small icons and the number 507, simply connect to the PC again and run Loader.exe again and it should load the OS to the device.

For the previous OS for this device, click here:
http://www.blackberryforums.com/gene...ilanguage.html

Thanks, Bolin.

Last edited by JSanders; 12-22-2008 at 09:11 AM..
Offline  
Old 12-22-2008, 02:23 PM   #2
Kucher
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Toronto, ON
Model: 8900
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 25
Default

Upgraded just now. Only took about 10 minutes. I don't notice anything different yet.
Offline  
Old 12-22-2008, 04:02 PM   #3
Cory Scheuer
No longer Registered.
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.199
Carrier: None
Posts: 2,622
Default

notice anything with speed? like on the home screen at all... no differences at all?
Offline  
Old 12-22-2008, 07:04 PM   #4
Kucher
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Toronto, ON
Model: 8900
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 25
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cory Scheuer View Post
notice anything with speed? like on the home screen at all... no differences at all?
The home screen is very snappy but I don't remember it being particularly laggy with the stock build. I'm coming from a Pearl 8100 so it's already so much faster...
Offline  
Old 12-23-2008, 03:01 AM   #5
fearomoon
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: germany
Model: 9000
OS: OS X
Carrier: TMO
Posts: 39
Default

are the wifi options missing? what about the profile bug freezing the device?
Offline  
Old 12-23-2008, 07:04 AM   #6
hadji
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bucharest
Model: 8900
Carrier: Orange Romania
Posts: 88
Default

The profile bug freeze the device as it has in .94 version
So again the same operation, we must put the profiles.cod files from .76, offff!!
Offline  
Old 12-23-2008, 09:44 AM   #7
Kucher
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Toronto, ON
Model: 8900
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 25
Default

My wi-fi works fine as well as my Profiles. I tried changing and editing tones in a couple profiles and saved my changes. This is an 8900 from Rogers which came with a newer build than .76 out-of-the-box.
Offline  
Old 12-23-2008, 06:32 PM   #8
obentou
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: University of Toronto
Model: 9000
Carrier: ROGERS
Posts: 53
Default

My Javelin came with .94 and it works perfectly, phew! (Except it lags when you browse in a folder in the Apps menu, response is terrible!)

Will an East Asia be released anytime soon? I need the CHN traditional input!
Offline  
Old 12-26-2008, 04:27 AM   #9
priest_spy
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: 8700g
PIN: N/A
Carrier: 8700g
Posts: 14
Default

has anyone try this new OS? I still keep OS version .76
Offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 05:17 AM   #10
manvadher
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: tmob
Posts: 13
Default

ive had this on my 8900 preinstalled and all works perfectly fine, never had any issue with anything, freezing / lagging or anything.
Offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 05:32 AM   #11
scorpius
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
scorpius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Amsterdam
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.228
PIN: The Donkey
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 94
Default

Running it now. No issues so far...
__________________
Thumbs are the most important organs man has. Not those "others" like one might think.
Offline  
Old 12-28-2008, 07:20 PM   #12
obentou
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: University of Toronto
Model: 9000
Carrier: ROGERS
Posts: 53
Default

Running it as well on a ROGERS Javelin...

A bad thing about this firmware is it cripples the GPS... it no longer locks in 5-10 seconds as it did on .94.

I'd advise against the upgrade. And on the side note, how do I go about downgrading?

Edit: Whoops, ignore... a nice reboot and the GPS works as well as before!

Last edited by obentou; 12-28-2008 at 09:15 PM..
Offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 11:19 AM   #13
Lex Luthor
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Lex Luthor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Model: 9800
Carrier: xxx9824;xxx9824;xxx9824;xxx9824;xxx9824;
Posts: 1,620
Default

Does this OS version increase the overall volume of the Javelin? With my current OS even when I have the volume set high I can never hear my BlackBerry alerts/rings when I am in a noisy environment.
Offline  
Old 12-29-2008, 10:19 PM   #14
StanMort
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bellevegas
Model: 8900
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 95
Default

How is battery life after the upgrade? I'm killing my battery every day when my 8300 used to last for 3-4 days.
Offline  
Old 12-30-2008, 02:47 AM   #15
david_uk
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: London
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.168
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 302
Default

Battery life here is similar to 8310, and that's with WiFi turned on 24/7. So, 2/3 days with average use.

Volume is not great though, room for improvement there.

But generally, have found .101 steady as a rock.
Offline  
Old 12-30-2008, 12:41 PM   #16
obentou
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: University of Toronto
Model: 9000
Carrier: ROGERS
Posts: 53
Default

Hmm has anyone noticed that in the media player, when you set the volume to minimum (ie. 0), there is still some sound leaking through the speaker? That's just awful to me...
Offline  
Old 12-30-2008, 02:31 PM   #17
StanMort
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bellevegas
Model: 8900
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 95
Default

I just did the upgrade and found one small thing that bothers me. Previously the Rogers header would also have the name of the current wifi network I was connected to( Rogers - Home). Now I get "Rogers Wireless - ROGERS - ..."

It's nothing major but it bugs me.
Offline  
Old 12-31-2008, 02:14 PM   #18
StanMort
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bellevegas
Model: 8900
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 95
Default

My initial impression is that this version solves the battery life problem. I've gone down one bar since yesterday when I would have needed to charge the phone overnight. I haven't had any reception or volume issues.
Offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 01:55 PM   #19
obentou
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: University of Toronto
Model: 9000
Carrier: ROGERS
Posts: 53
Default

^ StanMort, so when you go into the Media Player and play a song, setting the volume all the way down to "0" doesn't leak any music or sound? Mine does that slightly but the sound is very crackly and distorted. I am not sure if my Javelin is defective or if it is a firmware issue...
Offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 03:15 PM   #20
StanMort
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bellevegas
Model: 8900
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 95
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by obentou View Post
^ StanMort, so when you go into the Media Player and play a song, setting the volume all the way down to "0" doesn't leak any music or sound? Mine does that slightly but the sound is very crackly and distorted. I am not sure if my Javelin is defective or if it is a firmware issue...
The sound doesn't stop completely. It's just very quiet
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

New OEM Cummins Onan PT TYPE DTOP STOP,MVT APPL. 3022269PX
$77.95
New OEM Cummins Onan PT TYPE DTOP STOP,MVT APPL. 3022269PX pictureOEM Carrier Cor TP-WEM01-A Color Smart Thermostat Works with Apple HomeKit
$207.14
OEM Carrier Cor TP-WEM01-A Color Smart Thermostat Works with Apple HomeKit   pictureOEM Apple iMac 21.5" A1311 Late 2009 LED Backlight Inverter Board V267-701HF
$7.0
OEM Apple iMac 21.5TE-6000-2 Johnson Controls 500 Ohm Sensr For Strapon Appl OEM TE-6000-2
$84.95
TE-6000-2 Johnson Controls 500 Ohm Sensr For Strapon Appl OEM TE-6000-2 pictureTEKTRONIX TDS2TRG Advanced Trigger Appl Module OEM User Manual 071-0306-01
$3.99
TEKTRONIX TDS2TRG Advanced Trigger Appl Module OEM User Manual 071-0306-01 picture






Copyright © 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM © and BlackBerry © are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.