BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2009, 11:05 AM   #121
bimmerd00d
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Frisco, TX
Model: 8130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Alltel
Posts: 107
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Yeah i still have no VVM icon after a wipe, fresh install, no restore. How can that even be? It shows .297! I love this phone, but i'm a moron apparently. Anyone else have this problem?
__________________
me: AT&T Bold 9000 with all the goodies.
g/f: T-Mobile Curve 8900
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 11:07 AM   #122
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

Are you sure it is provisioned on your ATT account?
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 11:09 AM   #123
bimmerd00d
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Frisco, TX
Model: 8130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Alltel
Posts: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSanders View Post
Are you sure it is provisioned on your ATT account?
Yes I had it done yesterday. Even if I didn't, i should still see VVM as an application on the device right? The only thing done to my device is it is debranded. That have something to do with it?
__________________
me: AT&T Bold 9000 with all the goodies.
g/f: T-Mobile Curve 8900
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 11:21 AM   #124
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

explain debranding

You played with the MFI tools on it?
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 11:22 AM   #125
mjw1776
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern NJ
Model: 9700
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 31
Default

Just updqated and my VVM did not work until I called my phone and left a message in my voicemail and it came alive.
__________________
BB8700, BB8100, BB8800, 9000, 9700
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 11:23 AM   #126
Kumar_Shah
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New York, NY
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.216
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmerd00d View Post
Yeah i still have no VVM icon after a wipe, fresh install, no restore. How can that even be? It shows .297! I love this phone, but i'm a moron apparently. Anyone else have this problem?
I, too had the same problem. Downloaded manually, and went through the upgrade steps with BDS. After an hour, restarted and it shows 4.6.0.297!
__________________
Kumar
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 11:41 AM   #127
bimmerd00d
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Frisco, TX
Model: 8130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Alltel
Posts: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSanders View Post
explain debranding

You played with the MFI tools on it?
I'm not at liberty to talk about that. But Literally a week before the stupid version that allowed us to switch was released. I was less than happy.
__________________
me: AT&T Bold 9000 with all the goodies.
g/f: T-Mobile Curve 8900
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 11:46 AM   #128
bimmerd00d
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Frisco, TX
Model: 8130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Alltel
Posts: 107
Default

ok tried loading the VVM .alx manually from BBDM, and this is the crap I got. F'NG UNBRANDING. Anyone else with an unbranded Bold manage to get this working?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BBVVM.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	103.5 KB
ID:	17083  
__________________
me: AT&T Bold 9000 with all the goodies.
g/f: T-Mobile Curve 8900
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 11:50 AM   #129
PapiPabs
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
PapiPabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mid-Hudson Valley NY
Model: 9000
OS: 5.0.0.681
PIN: occhio
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 347
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmerd00d View Post
ok tried loading the VVM .alx manually from BBDM, and this is the crap I got. F'NG UNBRANDING. Anyone else with an unbranded Bold manage to get this working?
If you don't want your PIN out there, you may want to edit that pic.
__________________
"You ever make fun of someone so much, you think you should thank them for all the good times you've had?"
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 12:05 PM   #130
ifonline
Magic Bananas
 
ifonline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Braselton, Georgia
Model: iP4S
OS: 5.1
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 2,350
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmerd00d View Post
I'm not at liberty to talk about that.
Wow. Now that's funny... considering that you have already talked about it. Luckily, I am not at liberty to help you with your problem.

Oh, and for anyone that has already read this topic, I am going to have to ask you to poke yourselves in the eyes and forget that you ever read any of this. That, and don't worry if you see any black helicopters circling your house... I'm sure they aren't looking for you, specifically. Honest.
__________________
Ian

Semper Fi 3/2/2
"Wow" is now overused. Therefore, I will use "Magic bananas" instead.
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 12:12 PM   #131
bimmerd00d
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Frisco, TX
Model: 8130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Alltel
Posts: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ifonline View Post
Wow. Now that's funny... considering that you have already talked about it. Luckily, I am not at liberty to help you with your problem.

Oh, and for anyone that has already read this topic, I am going to have to ask you to poke yourselves in the eyes and forget that you ever read any of this. That, and don't worry if you see any black helicopters circling your house... I'm sure they aren't looking for you, specifically. Honest.
Debrand what? Isn't this the Nokia forums? I dont know what you guys are talking about, i'm turning my Nokia N95 into a CD player using chicken wire and crap.
__________________
me: AT&T Bold 9000 with all the goodies.
g/f: T-Mobile Curve 8900
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 12:25 PM   #132
IanHummel
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 9000
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 394
Default

Its telling me "unable to send request for wireless update" when I try. I'm on a BES, is that why? Guess I'll have to do this when I get home.
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 12:41 PM   #133
shootsbooz
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 8
Default

VVM is working for me (and so's the phone with the new OS).. It's Kinda of a let down after all the buzz..
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 12:47 PM   #134
Kumar_Shah
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New York, NY
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.216
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 40
Default

VVM is working fine for me also.

Called AT&T customer service to have VVM turned on. They were clueless. Went to My Account page at AT&T and added the VVM feature at $0.00 per month. When I next clicked on the icon on my Bold, was invited to add a password and record a greeting.
__________________
Kumar
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 12:48 PM   #135
The-Red-Elf
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
The-Red-Elf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 9000
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Boot up time is roughly half of .282. It did "archive" my programs (AIM, MSN, GTalk, etc.) and when you click on the icon is asks if you want to restore them. Tried to restore it and it hung the device (device time hadn't changed in 5 minutes). Doing battery pull.

Pritesh

Update - after battery pull seems to be fine. Not sure what this archiving of programs are, but I'm thinking restoring then battery pulling is clearing the icons.
Had this same thing happen to me. Weird, everything seems to be fine now.
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 12:56 PM   #136
penguin3107
BlackBerry God
 
penguin3107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Model: iOS 5
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 11,701
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IanHummel View Post
Its telling me "unable to send request for wireless update" when I try. I'm on a BES, is that why?
Probably. Sounds like your BES administrator has disallowed non-Enterprise wireless updates.
__________________
BCSA
BES 5.0.3 MR4 :-: Exchange 2007 SP3 RU3
http://port3101.org
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 12:58 PM   #137
jstevenson
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.442
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmerd00d View Post
ok tried loading the VVM .alx manually from BBDM, and this is the crap I got. F'NG UNBRANDING. Anyone else with an unbranded Bold manage to get this working?
Yeah, since your device is now unbranded, the VVM installer will only install if it's branded AT&T (vendor ID = 102). So edit the net_rim_bb_vvm.alx file and change all occurrences of "102" to whatever vendor ID you branded to, I imagine either 179 or -1, although I don't know if there will be some issue with -1.

Once you do that, VVM should show up as an available application to install through BBDM (interestingly, if I do the above and try to use loader.exe, I get the same error as you).
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 01:19 PM   #138
bimmerd00d
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Frisco, TX
Model: 8130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Alltel
Posts: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jstevenson View Post
Yeah, since your device is now unbranded, the VVM installer will only install if it's branded AT&T (vendor ID = 102). So edit the net_rim_bb_vvm.alx file and change all occurrences of "102" to whatever vendor ID you branded to, I imagine either 179 or -1, although I don't know if there will be some issue with -1.

Once you do that, VVM should show up as an available application to install through BBDM (interestingly, if I do the above and try to use loader.exe, I get the same error as you).
Now where were you 5min ago when i re-branded the thing? Re-branded, and running Loader.exe right now... It actually said it was going to install VVM this time unlike before. The only reason i debranded in the first place was to get the 2G/3G switch. now i have no reason to be de-branded.
__________________
me: AT&T Bold 9000 with all the goodies.
g/f: T-Mobile Curve 8900

Last edited by bimmerd00d; 08-25-2009 at 01:21 PM..
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 01:27 PM   #139
Stinsonddog
BBF Moderator
 
Stinsonddog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern California
Model: 9700
PIN: Agaboobie
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 5,518
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jstevenson View Post
Yeah, since your device is now unbranded, the VVM installer will only install if it's branded AT&T (vendor ID = 102). So edit the net_rim_bb_vvm.alx file and change all occurrences of "102" to whatever vendor ID you branded to, I imagine either 179 or -1, although I don't know if there will be some issue with -1.

Once you do that, VVM should show up as an available application to install through BBDM (interestingly, if I do the above and try to use loader.exe, I get the same error as you).
I haven't kept up with the various jl-cmdr type programs out there but I assume you could also load the cods that way too.
__________________
Shortcuts Rule!! Download Link:[Stinsonddog's Blackberry Tips ] GET TORCHED
@ Stinsonddog
Offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 01:31 PM   #140
Kenneth L Glick, M.D.
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Cingular ATT
Posts: 6
Default 297

Just finished upgrading to 297 from 291. Although my phone now says the software is now 4.6.0.297 (508) I really see no other change. With this upgrade I did not delete the vendor file because it is an ATT upgrade to an ATT service Bold. I know that when you upgrade or install an OS from other than your own provider the vendor file needs to be deleted. I was not sure in this case if it made any difference. I expected to see more themes and apps after the upgrade
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

IR Test Wireless Remote Control Tester 4-Bit Digital Display Of Radio Frequency
$56.66
IR Test Wireless Remote Control Tester 4-Bit Digital Display Of Radio Frequency pictureUnoisetion Cavitation RF Radio Frequency Vacuum Skin rejuvenation Slim Machine
$331.0
Unoisetion Cavitation RF Radio Frequency Vacuum Skin rejuvenation Slim Machine picture6 in1 40K Ultrasonic Cavitation Vacuum RF Radio Frequency Body Slimming Machine
$589.79
6 in1 40K Ultrasonic Cavitation Vacuum RF Radio Frequency Body Slimming Machine picture6in1 Cavitation Radio Frequency LED Body Slimming Cellulite Ultrasonic Machine
$390.0
6in1 Cavitation Radio Frequency LED Body Slimming Cellulite Ultrasonic Machine pictureDepuy Mitek VaprVue Radiofrequency Electrode System 225024
$199.99
Depuy Mitek VaprVue Radiofrequency Electrode System 225024 picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.