Closed Thread

Old 04-04-2006, 01:50 PM   #1
BBRaffey
Thumbs Must Hurt

Model: Bold
Carrier: AT&T
Default An Old Fart's case comparison

Please Login to Remove!

I have been a member of these forums for approximately two months now and have read hundreds of posts concerning cases. One lesson learned is that beyond providing protection, the type of case desired is a very personal choice. Without knowing anything about the reviewer, it is difficult to gage the relevancy of the review to your own desires. I am an attorney in practice for 34 years so you can guess my age. I have owned every type of car/cell phone imaginable and have used nearly every provider (most do not even exist anymore). My first car phone was so large that the guts of it filled 20% of a Mercedes trunk and weighed almost 30 pounds. In deciding on a case, I put my desires in the following order: protection for the bb, ease of use, unobtrusive (anyone trying to be a “Geek” at my age simply ends up looking ridiculous). I have the OEM shell that came with the 8700c and have purchased three additional cases, mostly based on the reviews of LGreenberg, but the last was my own special order. My thoughts:

OEM shell – the easiest to use, literally screams out to everyone “look at me, I have a BlackBerry”, and provides the least protection. Its not “if” but “when” it will either break or the bb will slip right through it and crash on the floor. Because of the lack of protection and geek factor, I only use this case if I want to clip the bb into my pocket.