BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-21-2011, 03:56 PM   #1
fjoerdman
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Model: 8700
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 7
Default Changing configuration Database in BES5 Express

Please Login to Remove!

Hi Folks,

we have got a BES5 Express MR1 Blackberry Server and i have to change the configuration Database to our new SQL2008 Database Server. Actually the BES Database is located on a SQL2005 Server.

The Problem is, it is not possible to change the configuration database in the database configuration application on the BES Server. Does anyone know how i can change the Database?

Thanks a lot for your help.
regards, Jens
Offline  
Old 01-21-2011, 04:58 PM   #2
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default Re: Changing configuration Database in BES5 Express

Moved to the proper section.
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 12:58 AM   #3
noname
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
noname's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Congested Islet of "Foreign Talents" (> 45% of workforce) - Singapore.
Model: Z10
OS: 10.0.0
PIN: NUKE(PAP)
Carrier: Singtel
Posts: 1,504
Default Re: Changing configuration Database in BES5 Express

Re-run the setup.exe.
__________________
Native but 4th class citizen of a nation governed by idiots who import congestions & contention.
Offline  
Old 01-27-2011, 07:33 AM   #4
fjoerdman
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Model: 8700
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 7
Default Re: Changing configuration Database in BES5 Express

Hi,

thanks for your help, but it is not possible to connect to the SQL2008 Server. The Installation wizard refers to the installation log:

25137] (01/27 07:48:58.459):{0xCE0} {ConnectionItem::ConnectToDB} Failed to connect. Connection string is Provider=SQLOLEDB.1;Server=SQL1\SQLSERVER;Database =BES5Mgmt;Network=dbmssocn;Trusted_Connection=Yes

[25000] (01/27 07:48:58.459):{0xCE0} ConnectionItem::ConnectToDB: COM Error 0x80004005 - Unbekannter Fehler - Source: "Microsoft OLE DB Provider for SQL Server" - Description "Cannot open database "BES5Mgmt" requested by the login. The login failed." - Command "ConnectionItem::ConnectToDB"

[25105] (01/27 07:48:58.459):{0xCE0} Failed to authenticate connection - local machine time may be out of sync with domain controller time. Please restart Windows Time Service.

[20000] (01/27 07:48:58.474):{0xCE0} ConnectDB: Cannot open database "BES5Mgmt" requested by the login. The login failed.0x80004005 NativeError=4060.

Has someboday any hint to solve this Problem?

regards, Jens
Offline  
Old 01-27-2011, 12:27 PM   #5
freakinvibe
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Basel
Model: Class
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Swisscom
Posts: 1,616
Default Re: Changing configuration Database in BES5 Express

Something is wrong with your connection to the SQL2008 server. Check for ports and protocols on the SQL server. Also does your BES service user have enough rights to the SQL2008 server?
Offline  
Old 01-29-2011, 12:27 PM   #6
fjoerdman
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Model: 8700
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 7
Default Re: Changing configuration Database in BES5 Express

Hi,

thanks for your support. the BESAdmin User has got the following server roles on the Sql 2008 Server, dbcreator, public and serveradmin
Also is named pipes and TCP/IP enabled on the sql configuration.

this is very wired, thank you so much for your help, folks.

regards,fjoerdman
Offline  
Old 01-29-2011, 03:47 PM   #7
nobody7290
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 9700
Carrier: t-mobile Germany
Posts: 1,381
Default Re: Changing configuration Database in BES5 Express

you have checked the possible problem with the time sychronisation ?

"[25105] (01/27 07:48:58.459):{0xCE0} Failed to authenticate connection - local machine time may be out of sync with domain controller time. Please restart Windows Time Service."
Offline  
Old 01-30-2011, 06:03 AM   #8
fjoerdman
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Model: 8700
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 7
Default Re: Changing configuration Database in BES5 Express

yes, the time is in sync, i ran the following .reg file to be sure:

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\W32Time\Parameters]
"Type"="NTP"
"NtpServer"="0.de.pool.ntp.org,0x1 1.de.pool.ntp.org,0x1 2.de.pool.ntp.org,0x1 3.de.pool.ntp.org"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\W32Time\Config]
"AnnounceFlags"=dword:00000005
"MaxNegPhaseCorrection"=dword:00000e10
"MaxPosPhaseCorrection"=dword:00000e10

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\W32Time\TimeProviders\NtpServer]
"Enabled"=dword:00000001

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\W32Time\TimeProviders\NtpClient]
"SpecialPollInterval"=dword:00000384

Regards, fjoermdan
Offline  
Old 01-30-2011, 06:14 AM   #9
nobody7290
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 9700
Carrier: t-mobile Germany
Posts: 1,381
Default Re: Changing configuration Database in BES5 Express

I dont think, that this is the problem, but:

you should check the time not only on one machine.
check your domain controller(s) time, and the time of the BES and the time of the Server hosting the database.

Authentication Errors are Caused by Unsynchronized Clocks: Logon and Authentication
Offline  
Old 01-30-2011, 07:20 AM   #10
fjoerdman
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Model: 8700
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 7
Default Re: Changing configuration Database in BES5 Express

I just checked the time on the W2k8 R2 DC, the BES System and the Sql2008 Server - every system got the same time.
Offline  
Old 01-30-2011, 07:26 AM   #11
nobody7290
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 9700
Carrier: t-mobile Germany
Posts: 1,381
Default Re: Changing configuration Database in BES5 Express

Have your tried to install the SQL express management tools on the BES Server, and then try using these to make a connection to the database server ?
Offline  
Old 01-31-2011, 08:59 AM   #12
fadmin
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Model: Z10
OS: 10.1.0.19
Carrier: Fido
Posts: 1,068
Default Re: Changing configuration Database in BES5 Express

Firewall maybe?
If you don't use default instance (default port 1433) you need to make sure you type port when you created instance and db.
Offline  
Old 01-31-2011, 11:35 AM   #13
pauuu
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Model: 7290
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 22
Default Re: Changing configuration Database in BES5 Express

I would try telneting to the sql server on the port you are using.

i.e telnet "name of sql server" 1433

if you get a responce of "Could not open connection to the host, on port" then its likely that your having a firewall issue.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads for: Changing configuration Database in BES5 Express
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Special BES Express plans (UK) classact Carrier Specific Issues 0 05-16-2010 09:32 PM
BB and a NATIVE linux desktop manager gijimbo911 Linux Users Corner 0 02-01-2010 05:02 PM
upgrade Blackberry Profession Express to BES5 gkarasik BES Admin Corner 15 04-24-2009 11:12 AM
Unable to connect to database ... stonedberry BES Admin Corner 7 06-21-2005 07:54 AM
BES 4.0 SP1 for Exchange now available! jibi BES Admin Corner 20 05-04-2005 10:00 PM


5 x LM386 Low Voltage Audio Power Amplifier with 8 pin dip sockets USA seller picture

5 x LM386 Low Voltage Audio Power Amplifier with 8 pin dip sockets USA seller

$4.90



HAAS AMPLIFIER AMP 30 SMART CNC LATHE MILL SL10 20 30 40 VF1 2 3 4 5 93-32-5550J picture

HAAS AMPLIFIER AMP 30 SMART CNC LATHE MILL SL10 20 30 40 VF1 2 3 4 5 93-32-5550J

$825.00



Lot of 5 National Semiconductor LM12CLK 80 Watt Operational Amplifier picture

Lot of 5 National Semiconductor LM12CLK 80 Watt Operational Amplifier

$89.99



SCOTT AV-3000 MASK Medium With Amplifier Mounting Bracket  picture

SCOTT AV-3000 MASK Medium With Amplifier Mounting Bracket

$44.50



RF Amplifier, Low Noise LNA 50 to 4000MHz SPF5189Z RF Amplifier for AmplifyingI2 picture

RF Amplifier, Low Noise LNA 50 to 4000MHz SPF5189Z RF Amplifier for AmplifyingI2

$9.99



National Semiconductor LM308N Operational Amplifier picture

National Semiconductor LM308N Operational Amplifier

$6.44







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.