BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-07-2010, 02:34 AM   #1
Douglas Roe
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.544
PIN: 21701059
Carrier: Fido
Posts: 32
Default 9700 UMA Rogers

Please Login to Remove!

We all know that Rogers has screwed us on 9700 UMA so the question is would Tmobile 9700 run UMA on rogers and be an edge device, i have previouslly run unlocked tmobile 8520 on rogers UMA with no issue
Offline  
Old 02-07-2010, 02:39 PM   #2
Jagga
CrackBerry Addict
 
Jagga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toronto
Model: Z10
Carrier: Lord Rogers - 107
Posts: 862
Default

That's an interesting question.

I've got a better one ... can firmware & service books components be easily removed from T-Mobile's UMA supporting 9700 over to any other 9700 or is the back-end of Rogers UMA servers still deny any connection?!
__________________
Senior help desk administrator (rim_db_admin_sr_helpdesk)
Serious Mobile
Offline  
Old 02-07-2010, 02:52 PM   #3
NJBlackBerry
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: SGS7
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 27,948
Default

No one has been able to do what you suggest.
Offline  
Old 02-07-2010, 03:11 PM   #4
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default

From what I know about it, both the carrier AND the device must support UMA. And from what I see on the Rogers site, UMA is only offered on the 8220. Not sure why. But if they don't offer it on the 9700, then I don't think any amount or kind of service books would fix it.

And if you did it on the 8520, many would really like to know how.
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 02-07-2010, 07:48 PM   #5
froussy
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal
Model: 9780
PIN: 271A36CC
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 120
Default

The device support it.. the backend not yet.. (i had that info from a Rogers Ingeneer in a meeting one night)
Offline  
Old 02-07-2010, 10:46 PM   #6
Jagga
CrackBerry Addict
 
Jagga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Toronto
Model: Z10
Carrier: Lord Rogers - 107
Posts: 862
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubdub View Post
From what I know about it, both the carrier AND the device must support UMA. And from what I see on the Rogers site, UMA is only offered on the 8220. Not sure why. But if they don't offer it on the 9700, then I don't think any amount or kind of service books would fix it.

And if you did it on the 8520, many would really like to know how.
Rogers UMA works for their branded FW on 8900 my wife was able to use it and I turned off the wireless network & bluetooth, leaving out WiFi only to prove it to myself. I really hope that 9700 gets UMA support and soon on Rogers.
__________________
Senior help desk administrator (rim_db_admin_sr_helpdesk)
Serious Mobile
Offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 12:14 PM   #7
The_Doughboy
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2005
Model: 9800
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 17
Default

Wikipedia says the following "Lack of UMA for Rogers Wireless. However, internal documents speculate that this issue should be fixed. No expected date has been given thus far." But there isn't a source listed for it.
__________________
Blackberry Torch
Bold 9700 <- Curve 8900 <- Curve 8310
<- Blackberry 8800 <- Blackberry 7250
Blackberry 6750 <- RIM 957
Offline  
Old 02-09-2010, 12:54 PM   #8
Raptor464
Kid Tested. Mom Approved.
 
Raptor464's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Northwest Indiana
Model: 9700
OS: 6.0.0.4xx
PIN: eapple under the sea
Carrier: T-mobile USA
Posts: 3,126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by froussy View Post
The device support it.. the backend not yet.. (i had that info from a Rogers Ingeneer in a meeting one night)
Anyone who spells Engineer like that obviously is lying through their teeth.
__________________
BlackBerry 9700: OS 6.0.0.424 FLASH WHITE
The BlackBerry Zone VIP
Follow me on Twitter: http://twitter.com/Raptor464
Offline  
Old 02-10-2010, 10:28 AM   #9
xkon
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Calgary
Model: 9700R
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 180
Default

I heard early Q2 - that it is being worked on... i really hope its true, it was the reason i got it the day it was released. Anyhow, the battery life alone over the 9000 made it a worthy upgrade in the meantime.
__________________
my office? 9700 tethered to my MBAir
Offline  
Old 02-10-2010, 09:28 PM   #10
SheeB
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Model: 9700
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 11
Default

I noticed today that a new soc on my BB 9700 Rogers account called Talkspot (Rogers UMA). Could very well that Rogers is near enabling UMA on the device?
Offline  
Old 02-11-2010, 09:07 PM   #11
lmcjipo
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
lmcjipo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montreal, Quebec (Canada)
Model: Q10
OS: 10.3.1
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Bell Wireless
Posts: 230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SheeB View Post
I noticed today that a new soc on my BB 9700 Rogers account called Talkspot (Rogers UMA).
I noticed the same thing on my Rogers Blackberry Bold 9700 when I log onto "MyRogers", it shows up with "Talkspot" as being a service which was recently added (or at least it wasn't there last month when I checked).
__________________
Bell Wireless (data plan): Factory Unlocked Blackberry Passport (Black)

My Tech Blog
Offline  
Old 08-04-2010, 06:52 AM   #12
moembamba
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: ROGERS
Posts: 2
Default

Download 5.0.0.862 search @ google , I finally have success with UMA Talkspot on a Rogers Bold 9700
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Atlas DCA55 Semiconductor Tester picture

Atlas DCA55 Semiconductor Tester

$89.95



Dual Range Transistor Diode Semiconductor & Passive Curve Tracer Tester/Tracker picture

Dual Range Transistor Diode Semiconductor & Passive Curve Tracer Tester/Tracker

$28.49



SSC9522S Original New SANKEN picture

SSC9522S Original New SANKEN

$14.95



TDA4605-3 Original New Siemens  Semiconductor  picture

TDA4605-3 Original New Siemens Semiconductor

$10.95



SAP15-NY Original Sanken TO3P Semiconductor picture

SAP15-NY Original Sanken TO3P Semiconductor

$14.95



Peak Atlas DCA55 Semiconductor Tester picture

Peak Atlas DCA55 Semiconductor Tester

$88.95







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.