Old 04-05-2007, 09:02 PM   #1
CruisingWriter
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 8703e
Carrier: Verizon
Default Frustrated with the 8800 and RIM

Please Login to Remove!

Hello:

I am new to these forums, so pardon me if I start with a prickly posting.

I just do not get RIM. What do they think they are up to with the 8800. I am a professional travel writer, and it was about year ago that I decided it was high time for a PDA type phone. It was also absolutely necessary that this device have tethering 3G capability for my laptops. All too often, I’m in places where Wi-FI is not available. As a moderator of a large Net type web site, I must have high speed internet access wherever I go.

So, it looked like the 8703e (with Verizon) was the answer to all my needs. I had studied the Blackberry vs Windows based devices, and I definitely decided that the Blackberry system was the way I wanted to go. And then, I learned that the 8703e did NOT have voice activated dialing. I was and still am amazed. How could RIM not build in this capability, which even low priced cell phones now enjoy. And, I MUST have voice activated dialing, that will work with a bluetooth earpiece. As much as I’m on the road, this is a necessity, not just a nicety.

Nevertheless, I purchased a 8703e, but had to keep my Motorolla cell phone for voice dialing capability. So, I had, and am still having to pay for two lines, when I should only need one.

Then, I hear about the upcoming release of the 8800. Here, I thought was the answer to my prayers. Voice dialing capability and GPS too. I was in heaven. Then, I learned that not only does the 8800 not have Wi-Fi capability, as promised, but, much worse, it is NOT a 3G device, so I can not tether my laptop to it, and have wireless broadband access. How incredibly disappointing. So, I am being forced to stay with my 8703e!