Closed Thread

Old 01-24-2008, 11:50 PM   #1
trekboy

Model: none
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Default Blackberry for College Student?

Please Login to Remove!

Hi Everyone. I registered just to ask this one question...

I'm a college student thinking about getting a blackberry for the calendaring and task list abilities. I already have a laptop (ibook G4), which is great. So I'm wondering if a blackberry would be overkill.

I'm on Verizon now (family share plan), and would be getting the 8703e used from ebay. I'd be on the $29.99/mo. data plan.

I do handle some email for my job as National IT Consultant for a small "green" construction firm, but mostly use my laptop for that. (And no, the company probably won't reimburse me for a BB).

Mostly I just want some kind of organizer which I can carry all the time. I carry a cellphone anyway, and DON'T want to carry an additional PDA (I tried a palm, but always left it behind). I always have moments where I say to myself "why didn't I write that down", or "darn, I forgot to do that". Unfortunately, Verizon won't let a BB be activated as a phone without a BB data plan.

Am I just wasting my money on a device and data plan meant for folks who need constant email access (which I really don't, or I just use my laptop)? Should I be looking at a Treo or Q (or even plain paper) instead? Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!
Old 01-25-2008, 12:15 AM   #2
S2K ON 2
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 8330
Carrier: Sprint

just recently got my first blackberry... now i completely understand why it's called CRACKBERRY...
Old 01-25-2008, 12:20 AM   #3
Thatzmister2u
Retired BBF Moderator

Model: 9000
PIN: ups! ;)
Carrier: AT&T