Old 02-13-2009, 11:58 PM   #1
geeksquad1516
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 8320
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Default Question about T-Mobile Phone

Please Login to Remove!

Hi, I'm geeksquad1516, and I'm just getting into the Blackberry scene.

I used to be into the Windows Mobile thing, with two phones, but it was getting tiresome. Getting all of the settings right was a pain and upgrading the phone's OS was a 20-step process. It seemed like Windows Mobile phones were destined to be a burden on society.

I have my sights on a used BlackBerry Curve 8320. My question is:
Is there any difference whatsoever between an AT&T 8320 with the downloadable OS that you have on this forum or an unlocked T-Mobile 8320 running the same OS off this website, if I am an AT&T customer?

I look forward to buying my BlackBerry and seeing you all soon.

P.S. If I buy a locked T-Mobile Blackberry, can I call their customer support and get it unlocked without being an actual customer?
Old 02-14-2009, 08:03 AM   #2
Motorcycle Mama
BlackBerry Master

Model: 9930
Carrier: Verizon

The OS is the same as long as it is for the correct model number.

No. You can't get an unlock code from a carrier with which you do not have an account. You will need to pay a third party company for an unlock code.
Old 02-14-2009, 08:53 AM   #3
sjsilverman
Thumbs Must Hurt

Model: 9700
Carrier: T-Mobile & China Mobile

An 8320 is an 8320, no matter which carrier it is with, and you can update any carrier's blackberry with any OS, as long as it is for the appropriate model (i.e. you can't put an OS for a 9530 on an 8320).

As for an unlock code, a carrier will not give you an unlock code unless you are a customer. You would have to go with a 3rd party. There are plenty of these services, and they are not that expensive.

Why go with a used model? With all the carriers trying to move their 8320 stock out to make room for newer BB's, new 8320's can be gotten for a steal.
Old 02-14-2009, 11:27 AM   #4