BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 03-25-2006, 11:58 AM   #1
Argelius
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 8700c
Question Mac-computing, BMW-driving gadget nut considering switching from a Treo 650

Please Login to Remove!

I've done my best to read the FAQs and search through the forums, but before I visit my local Cingular store (and cancel my Sprint contract), I wanted to get a couple of things clarified. (I have no experience with Blackberry, so apologies in advance if these questions are...well...annoying...)

[1] I am a Mac User. I see that Blackberry now supports synching with iCal and Addressbook. Since this would be a deal-breaker if it didn't work, can anyone confirm that it does, in fact work well?

[2] When typing email messages, does the 8700 have any predictive text functions or are 3rd party applications available?

(On my Treo I use an app called TextPlus that gives word choices as you type. If I type "st" a little list with words like "start, star, stupendous", etc, pops up. It's a great time saver.)

[3] Can anyone confirm that the 8700's Bluetooth will happily talk to a 2006 BMW 330?

Anything I'd be losing moving to a Blackberry other than:
[1]Palm-specific 3rd party apps which I don't use that much
[2] A crappy camera
[3] A stubby antenna

I have no particular reason to switch from a Treo to a Blackberry other than my terminal addiction to gadgets and need, to get something new to play with. Thanks!
Old 03-25-2006, 12:30 PM   #2
DuckWingDuck
CrackBerry Addict

Model: 8700g
Carrier: TMO

textplus is like T9, it's horrendous and I hate it. One big reason why I never got the 7xxx series.
Old 03-25-2006, 12:56 PM   #3
Big Boy

[1] I am a Mac User. I see that Blackberry now supports synching with iCal and Addressbook. Since this would be a deal-breaker if it didn't work, can anyone confirm that it does, in fact work well?