Closed Thread

Old 06-16-2006, 08:55 PM   #1
uglyb0b
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 7290
Carrier: cingular
Default My 7130c review

Please Login to Remove!

Since I am a newbie poster here, i will share the following: I have been a BES admin for about 16 months now. I have carried a personal 7100g for about a year, a work 7290 for about 6 months, and a work 8700 for about 6 months. Use this to determine how worthy you think this review is.

Summary: Here is the way I look at it all: I like the 7100g because its small, has a speakerphone, has dedicated talk/end buttons, and feels more like a phone. I like the 7290 because the screen is readable outside, its faster and perhaps a little less buggy.

I feel like the 8700 is a combination of the 7100 and 7290: you get the speakerphone, bright screen, and talk/end buttons. It is also must faster and more responsive. You can also program the convenience keys (although the latest upgrade for the 7100g allowed you to do the same). Navigating around menus is much quicker, and doing things like “Mark prior opened” doesn’t take near as long.

The best way for me to summarize the 7130c is: take the power/speed/screen readability (outside) and EDGE of the 8700 and give it to the 7100. This is the 7130c. If you like the 7100g, but you want EDGE and want the device to be faster, the 7130c is for you.

7100g Quirks
This part is mainly for 7100 users. Things that bug me about the 7100 that appear to have been fixed in 7130:
Dialing: sometimes if you are at the home screen and you start dialing a number quickly, the phone seems like it cant keep up and will miss a number or two. Not so anymore.

If you are on the phone, and the backlight has turned off, there are slightly delays if you toggle mute or speakerphone. This is fixed, probably because of the upgraded hardware.

Things I like about the 7130c
EDGE