Old 10-02-2007, 04:35 AM   #1
BBFan11

Model: 8320
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Default UMA w/o BIS

Please Login to Remove!

Hello everyone,
I'm a newbie here. Glad to finally join the BB community .
I've been using my Pearl for while a while and just switched to the T-Mobile Curve today. When I set up my phone, I was able to connect to my home network, browse the internet through WiFi Browser and got uma (lowercase) signal. Everything worked!
Then I just loaded some application and uma is gone(only edge left). I was still I haven't add BIS to my Curve yet since I still to see if uma work without BIS. I called T-Mobile and the rep told me that I need to have BIS add-on to utilize UMA and Internet. He also told me that it was probably a coincidence that I was able to pickup WiFi and UMA before. However I'm still able to connect to my network and browser internet but still no UMA? Does anyone experience something like that? I'm going to try and see if I can get UMA at other WiFi network tomorrow.
BTW, the 8320 so far has been a joy to use (aside from UMA issue). I don't think I can go back to the 8100 after using this awesome full QWERTY keyboard.
Old 10-02-2007, 08:06 AM   #2
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator

Model: Z30
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon

Welcome to the Forums, BBFan11.

After your UMA worked well, what were the applications you loaded? It would be helpful to detail what you did leading up to the UMA-out condition.

Good luck, welcome to the Forums.
Old 10-02-2007, 10:10 AM   #3
ninja95
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 8230
Default Manage Connection Options