BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 12-17-2008, 02:55 PM   #1
sdedic005

Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Default Blackberry Bold or 8900? What is right for me?

Please Login to Remove!

Hello fellow blackberry users. It is christmas season here and I was just wondering what blackberry I should get, the Bold or the 8900. Now before picking whatever one of you seems to prefer, I want to tell you what I would like in the phone and what type of a user I am and then make your decision for me based on that.

For one, I am not a hardcore business user, I am a 2nd year university student. I want to have a phone thats different than normal by browsing the web at times when bored and being able to check things such as bus schedule, scores of games, class schedules etc.

Number 2: I am going to be using my blackberry as a media player as well, I am not sure which model has the better player so this is another question I pose to all of you

Number 3: I do get a lot of university emails because I volunteer a lot within the community so I am not sure if one blackberry is better than other in emails.

Number 4: I will travel with this thing a lot, I am not much of a holster person and would like to keep my blackberry with me in a pocket at all times. Longevity is also key, I realize technology is always growing but I would like to have a useful machine in 2 years time.

I realize the things I have mentioned contradict the strengths and weaknesses of both the Bold and the 8900 but please taking all this into consideration, what would you reccommend for a university student with the needs I have discussed above. Your help is very much appreciated in determing a christmas present that hopefully will last me a while. Thank you!
Old 12-17-2008, 03:29 PM   #2
Casper TFG
Thumbs Must Hurt

Carrier: o2 UK

Pocket...?

Student...?

Get 8900

Bold is a bit of a brick..

8900 lighter / smaller / cooler
Old 12-17-2008, 03:34 PM   #3
ricpac
BBFAQ Sysop

Model: 9700