Closed Thread

Old 09-13-2006, 10:28 AM   #1
sjsilverman
Thumbs Must Hurt

Model: 9700
Carrier: T-Mobile & China Mobile
Default 8100 is OK, but isn't wowing me

Please Login to Remove!

Hey all. Thought I would give my 2 cents. I got my 8100 yesterday morning at the T-Mobile retail store in downtown Miami. I played iwth it for a few minutes in the store first, and my initial reaction was I wasn't in love, but would buy it to play for a bit. I've been using a 7130g for the past several months and do love that. Only problem is the unsolved problem of not getting the IPPP for BIBS service book, and therefore missing some features. I figured I'd get the 8100 when it came out.

So, my observations:

Keyboard is too small for any real emailing
"Pearl" trackball is kind of a pain, but I am getting used to it.
Bluetooth synch and DUN works great
Screen is just too small
Themes are OK, but I still use Pocketday Pro, rather than the Today theme
Volumes are too low across the board.
Camera is fun gadget, but after the novelty wears off, I'm not sure I'll care
I LOVE the voice activation, but again, this might be a novelty that will wear out.

Overall, I guess its a nice unit, but if I could get all the service books into my 7130, and upgrade to OS 4.2 when it is released, I think I would be more satisfied. If the 8800 is scaled down respectively, that might become the ultimate BB for me.

You are welcome to your own opinions, but these are mine. I'll probably hold on to it for a few days, since I have 14 to check it out, and then make a decision as to whether to keep it or not.
Old 09-13-2006, 10:44 AM   #2
mpallo
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia

Model: 8320
Carrier: TMO

Played with one at my store yesterday. Did not fall in love with it as I thought I would. The shiny polished chrome looked a bit cheap looking.

I am a bit concerned how the scroll wheel is going to withstand my pocket after taking it in and out. I also did not like the jiggle and play in the keys.