pgoeol
Thumbs Must Hurt

Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Default Confused between BIS/BES network connetion strings

Please Login to Remove!

Hi,

I'm new to BB development and stuck on a problem related to network connection via BIS/BES.
In my application I've used ;deviceside=false;ConnectionType=mds-public as the string to be appended on the connection URL. I've installed the application on my blackberry handset which is connected to a BES and a policy has been applied by the BES administrator which restrict my device to make external network connections.
This setting is working fine as a result most of the application stopped working (due to inability of web access) including google maps but my application is working seamlessly.

As of now I know that ;deviceside=false;ConnectionType=mds-public is used for BIS network access. Plz tell me whether I'm right or not, and if I'm right then how can I ensure that my application will route all the network data via BES only.

Thnx in advance...
Pulkit
Old 09-16-2009, 08:05 AM   #2
Dougsg38p
BlackBerry Extraordinaire

Model: 9700
Carrier: T-Mobile

Use CoverageInfo to determine if you are on a BES.

If you are, remove the connection parameters, they are not needed on a BES network.
Old 09-16-2009, 09:03 AM   #3
pgoeol
Thumbs Must Hurt

Thanks for the reply...

I've read on internet that
;deviceside=false;ConnectionType=mds-public is required to be added if device is connected to BIS
;deviceside=false; is required to be added if device is connected to BES

So if no special string is required in case of BES then plz tell me what are the scenarios when these string should be appended in the URL.

Pulkit
Old 09-16-2009, 11:10 AM   #4
Dougsg38p

No string is required for BES. No parameter says "give me the default connection", which is BES if the device is on a BES, period.